FODMAP friendly / gluten free / paleo/primal / vegetarian

Recipe: Paleo Bread

I’m a sucker for any recipe that results in an easy, portable, tasty food product. I think that’s one of the reasons it is so difficult for most people to begin eating gluten free or paleo/primal. They just don’t want to give up the easy parts. I sincerely do not blame them.

I was pleased to find this “paleo” bread recipe a few months ago, from Elana’s Pantry. It came through Gwyneth Paltrow’s lifestyle newsletter, GOOP. I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I followed her recipe, with the exception of using coconut flour. I had heard coconut is high in FODMAPs (those fermentable sugars and fibers that cause problems for people suffering fructose malabsorption). Since my son is on a low-FODMAP diet, I was reluctant to do anything with coconut flour. (I have since found out that coconut flour is okay! When I decide to try this again, I’ll pick up some coconut. Yay!) Instead, I used tapioca, which we do okay with.

The first ingredient is almond flour, which is the main component of the bread, other than eggs. I just buy raw blanched almonds from my local Trader Joe’s (along with most of my baking goods, can you tell?!), and grind them up in the food processor.

Then you add flaxseed (go for golden, as regular flaxseed will turn your bread olive green).

Then add the Tapioca and other dry ingredients (baking soda, salt).

Then combine the eggs with the other wet ingredients: Oil, honey, vinegar. I used olive oil instead of of coconut, but I heard butter or ghee works tremendously. Honey is a no-no for us FODMAP types, so I used maple syrup. As for vinegar, I have no idea what the jury has decided on apple cider vingar, but I figure it’s already fermented, so no fructose for my gut to have to process.

Combine all of the wet ingredients with the dry.

And bake at 350!

This is the result.

Overall, it’s not bad. It’s very dense like most gluten free breads, but I might pull back on the amount of almond used. I did weigh the flour right before adding it and got between 118 and 125 grams per cup. Also, because I didn’t use coconut or honey, this turned out less sweet than the original recipe would have been. Not complaining about that, though, as I don’t care for sweet stuff. I do wish I had used butter instead of olive oil.

Leave a Reply

