FODMAP friendly / gluten free / paleo/primal / vegetarian

Recipe: Roasted Green Beans

An early memory surrounding food was really loving green beans. I’m not talking about fancy fresh ones sauteed in butter and garlic, or steamed. I’m talking the mushy ones from a can. The ones they always included in our school lunches. At some point, around the age of six or seven, I totally turned on them. I remember the memory intensely. It was a texture issue. I spit them out and would no longer eat them.

About twenty years later, I finally realized they weren’t that bad if you bought them fresh and cooked them up with some fat. Humorously, I do remember making a bacon themed Thanksgiving a few years ago. Bacon-wrapped turkey breast, bacon-flavored mashed potatoes, and green beans sauteed in bacon grease and with bacon pieces. It was awesome. Heh.

Needless to say, I love green beans again. They’re technically a legume, but they’re not considered off-limits to the primal world, because they’re picked before they’re mature and before they’ve dried on the vine. As a result, they’re easy to digest. And boy, are they tasty! And well, I didn’t think they could get any better, but then one night, I wanted a really quick recipe where the green beans couldn’t get soggy if they  spent a minute too long in the steamer. Lo and behold, Emeril Lagasse came to the rescue with this fantastic recipe!

Just get yourself some green beans.

Image

Trim them (I buy them already trimmed, from Costco) and wash them.

Image

Throw them on a pan with some olive oil, salt and pepper. Stick them in a 425 degree oven for about 12 to 15 minutes. Stir once.

Image

What results is fantastic. They’re slightly crisp but still tender. And they almost taste like french fries, which is great.

Image

You can’t go wrong with this. I served mine up with a turkey burger. You could just eat them as a snack. So tasty!

Image

You could also season with garlic, lemon juice, or whatever herbs you like. I just love them plain.

One last note, as far as I can tell, everything I can find indicates that green beans are relatively FODMAP friendly. Your mileage may vary, of course. I don’t have any issues with them, and my son seems to do fine with them.

One thought on “Recipe: Roasted Green Beans

Leave a Reply

