Uncategorized

New Year

While I’ve tried to eat pretty healthily in the past year, I’ve had some health issues that have driven me nuts. Back pain, migraines, and low-grade anxiety have plagued me on and off since the summer. I linked some of these issues to the paleo diet I was following. When you cut out all grains and beans, you lose the magnesium and folate, unless you do a really fastidious job of bulking up on the leafy green veggies, which I wasn’t. I’m just not a spinach-loving gal.

Going forward into the new year, my biggest goal is to make sure I’m really getting excellent sources of B-vitamins and magnesium, and other important vitamins and minerals, from the food I eat. I’ve had mixed results with supplements, especially badly with vitamin D and calcium. I will probably post something about that in the near future, but suffice it to say I generally get enough dietary and environmental sources of vitamin D and calcium, and not enough folate and magnesium. It’s a constant battle and one I hope to figure out this year.

In the meantime of figuring that out, I’m going to try and stick to a “mostly paleo” diet, meaning that meats and virtually unprocessed foods will dominate. But if my body tells me I could use a little more fiber/folate/magnesium, I’m going to have some brown rice or some beans. I’m okay with that!

Oh, and wine makes me fat, so I’m going to try and cut back on that. 😉

I know people roll their eyes when people talk resolutions. So my goal is the 80/20 rule. Try to eat healthy and nutritiously 80 percent of the time, and that other 20 I’ll have the burger and fries (no bun, of course…).

 

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

