FODMAP friendly / gluten free / paleo/primal

Recipe: Steak

For the purposes of this blog, I don’t really think it gets much more “meat babe” than steak.  A nice, half-pound or more of beef cut from the best part of the cow is fantastic. My favorite cuts are the New York strip and ribeye. Who am I kidding? I love it all.

Martha Stewart has a nice page with some of the finer cuts of beef laid out.

It’s New Year’s day, and as I posted yesterday, my biggest goal is to get more nutrients out of the food I eat. I’m not doing paleo/primal/low-carb, per se, but I know I do better with a little more protein and a little less in the grains and sugar department. Steak certainly fits the bill.

One steak (roughly half a pound) has most of your day’s supply of selenium, zinc, niacin, vitamin B-6; roughly half of your vitamin B-12, phosphorus; a quarter of your day’s iron, potassium; and a significant source of thiamine, riboflavin, pantothenic acid, and magnesium. Not too shabby.

You’re probably thinking steak needs crazy marinades or special prep like grilling to taste great? Not at all. If you get a great cut of meat, and your butcher is decent, you can cook great steak at home. I personally love Mark Bittman’s guidance here.

Image

First, place a clean, ovenproof, non-stick skillet (I use cast iron) in the oven, 4 inches from the broiler, and preheat the broiler. I add a tiny bit of olive oil to the pan. Then, pull the steak out of the fridge.

Image

Throw some salt and pepper on that steak. Once the oven has preheated for about ten minutes, throw the steaks in!

Image

Cook for about 3-5 minutes on a side, depending on your oven and personal preference. I do 4 minutes for medium-rare.

Image

Cover with foil and wait five minutes.

Image

And voila! Steak. Is. Done.

Leave a Reply

