menu planning / OAMC

OAMC: Week of March 8

Before I start with this week’s menu, I’d like to recap last week.

The Peruvian chicken was okay. The chicken part was good, but I think the freeze/thaw process liberated way too much liquid from the onions and caused the final dish to be a soggy mess. Blargh. Next time, i wouldn’t freeze the veggies at all.  The Chicken Shawarma was pretty good, but only with the yogurt sauce. Without the yogurt sauce it was only slightly better than your average plain chicken. The yogurt elevated it to fantastic! My girlfriend said she would definitely do the shawarma again. The GOOP ribs were not quite panty droppers. They were pretty good, per my girlfriend. I’m still currently cooking mine and will update this in a few hours.(Edit: They were actually really good! I hate ribs, and I liked these. So that’s a vote of confidence.) My hubby loved the chile colorado. I loved the jambalaya.

I was going to just half-ass things this week because I’m tired of the planning part, but it’s so great not having to think about what to cook for dinner. I wish I could so not think about dishes, too.

Monday – Alton Brown’s Gyros – I’ve blogged these here before

Yum!

Yum! This was from when I made them before.

Tuesday – Mark Bittman’s Braised Beef – I told you I was lazy this week

Wednesday – Huli Huli Chicken – I’m using a whole chicken; I’m going to combine this recipe with a different one and wing it (sorry for the pun)

Photo credit and recipe gutsybynature.com

Photo credit and recipe gutsybynature.com

Thursday – Homemade Meatballs – Pick your favorite; that recipe is not at all paleo friendly but is authentic; you can make subs with nutritional yeast for the parmesan and almond meal for the breadcrumbs (not exactly in the same ratios, generally up to 50% less works just fine, but don’t take my word on it if you’re doing these paleo)

Meatball recipe from FOOD.com, photo from user Kiss*My*Tiara

Meatball recipe and photo from FOOD.com

Friday – Crustless Quiche – Or just eggs and homemade sausage, if I’m feeling really damn lazy

Crustless Quiche recipe and photo by budgetbytes.com

Crustless Quiche recipe and photo by budgetbytes.com

Meat, Poultry, and Eggs

  • 2 pounds ground lamb (or 1 pound beef, 1 pound lamb)
  • 1.5-2 pounds beef stew meat
  • One 3-4 pound whole chicken (or the amount of wings called by the recipe)
  • 1 pound ground beef (for my meatballs…I like to make a big batch so I will be doubling this)
  • 5 eggs

Dairy

  • 1 and 1/4 cup milk or cream
  • 2 oz feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
  • Yogurt

Fresh Veggies, Fruit, Herbs, Etc.

  • 8 oz of mushrooms (I hate mushrooms, so I’ll probably leave them out of the quiche)
  • 10 oz box of spinach (or go crazy and use fresh baby spinach)
  • Fresh parsley
  • Ginger
  • Garlic (1-2 heads)
  • 3 Onions (medium)
  • Cucumber
  • Mint
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1 stalk celery

Dried Spices

  • Garlic powder
  • Parsley
  • Oregano
  • Marjoram
  • Rosemary

Other Stuff

  • A jar of your favorite tomato sauce, or make your own for the meatballs
  • Soy sauce or coconut aminos
  • 20 ounce can of pineapple juice (I think I’m just going to buy a fresh pineapple and wing it)
  • Honey
  • Tomato paste
  • Rice vinegar
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Cheesecloth or flour sack towel
  • One brick or heavy pan

That’s it for this week. Thanks for playing along at home.

Leave a Reply

